So, Here’s the Thing: 1

Welcome to my new start at blogging…again.

Somewhere around 15 years ago I started an Xanga account. Precisely like my friends were all doing during that delightfully awkward period known as middle school. I can’t honestly recall if I liked it or even cared enough to feign liking it at the time, but the idea stuck with me moving forward in life. I love the idea of being able to pick up an old conversation that I’ve been having with myself and revisit it again. Thanks to the modern miracle that is WordPress I now have the tools to pick up and try the concept again. So here we go, my new idea…start off with what I’m thinking and expand.

I would like to take a moment and just thank the wonderfully mystical women of my life for giving me the bravery to attempt this written feat. I’ve been truly fortunate to know some honest-to-goodness mystical, magickal, or just simply dirty hippie souls in my life. Something about them speaks to me on a level I do not usually receive from the average person. In short ladies, thank you! I appreciate all of your positive energy that I do not understand, I appreciate the vibes you send, and I appreciate your craft, no matter what it may be.

I do not claim to be gifted as they are, goodness knows I am not. But I aspire to their level of comfort with the world. To simply have peace knowing it is all beyond our control and that we should be thankful for what comes and for what goes.

I am reading a book right now, Matchmaking For Beginners: A Novel by Maddie Dawson and am so entranced by Blix. She reflects the characteristics I’ve come to know and love about the magickal people in my life. I reccomend it so far, being only 14% of the way in, because I’ve read a beautiful passage that I simply had to comment on.

Spoiler alert! Blix has a mass in her stomach, it is likely what will kill her. She’s an 85 year old woman with more life in her than I feel like I do on an average day. Blix commented on her welcoming mentality and instead of treating this probably fatal mass as a battle ground in her body, she simply lets it be. She named the mass, did her little rituals and chants, ran the gambit it seemed of new-age or old world practices, and is simply unafraid of death. “It’s just a change of address really.”

I’ve only read a bit of it, but I love her character and she reminds me of my first slightly off-beat character love – Aunt Meg from the 1996 classic, Twister. She’s a small part, but an important one in my eyes. She isn’t outright anything other than an older woman living alone who loves the people in her life. She feeds them steak from what used to be her cows and eggs when they visit, and her house is blown over by a tornado. Congratulations, you just read the absolute worst summary of my favorite character in Twister. You’re welcome. Never the less the character resonated with me as a child when I saw the movie for the first time and still does. Wind chimes and all.

I often wonder what kind of person I’ll grow up to be. I sincerely hope I grow into some sort of mystical, magickal, dirty hippie. Maybe I’m already on my way, who knows?

Anyway, thanks for reading. More blogging adventure fun next time.

💚

Leave a comment